Posted by: sailingspirit | May 13, 2011

No Sugar Added

What's your drug of choice?

American society is addicted to sugar.  There’s hardly a product in the store that doesn’t contain sugar, or one of a dozen sugar-substitutes.  We like to debate about sugars and write catchy jingles or smart commercials for our sugars.  Where business sees an issue for profit margins, and doctors see a problem for people’s health, I see it as a problem for America spiritually.  Observe our lexicon, the evidence of how we think: “the sweet life,” “whisper sweet nothings,” “arm candy,” and “eye candy.”  In fact I think today’s people are striving for The Sweet Life instead of The American Dream, or maybe The American Dream has simply changed to Pie In the Sky.  (There’s even a new TV show now, called “Eye Candy.”)  Not exactly sure what The Sweet Life is, people are really striving something fierce to get it.  Which is an oxymoron, because one of the few things I can say about The Sweet Life is that it specifically excludes anything unpleasant; political correctness has gone over the edge to where we “sugar coat” everything we say, so horribly petrified of prickling anyone that no one–NO ONE–tells the truth anymore.  About anything.  How can it be The Sweet Life if you are robbed of the truth?  Ever stop to think that if people just told the truth, there wouldn’t be a need for gossip?  People wasting countless hours analyzing every dot and tittle of a conversation because “I wonder what she meant by that….”  Here’s a shocker:  Ask.  But I know, people are so used to lying they neither know what they really mean nor can they express it appropriately when they do.

Unless, of course, they can do it from behind the anonymity safety cloak of virtual reality media, like the Wizard of Oz.  “Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain!”   We have reached a point where anyone speaking the real truth, straight up, not shaken or stirred, not coated in sugar or anything else, is abominable and vilified.  Ousted from the Candy Land game altogether.  What I want to know is, does truth really frighten you that much?  At what age did you stop wanting people to tell you the truth?  Does their truth tell you anything you didn’t already (deep down, secretly) know?

In case you weren’t disappointed in me enough for a previous post (Eggs…Over Everything), I must confess I wasn’t born with the lying gene, either.  I’m just not a natural at it.  There were a few times in my life where I developed some skill, as our society is wont for us to do, but I never won any acting awards for it and I always hated it.  I’ve been weaning myself off culturally-acceptable lying right alongside sugar in forms A thru Z.  So, for example, if you ask, “How are you?” I’m going to tell you.  If I’m not fine, my answer will not be “Fine.”  So if you don’t have the time or interest to listen, don’t ask.  And if you ask my opinion or input on anything, expect to get what I think, not what you want to hear.  More than likely, it will not be in agreement with everyone else you’ve polled.

Thus, this blog site is a detox programme of sorts, not for me specifically as much as for our society as a whole.  “Be the change you want to see in the world.”  If I don’t start being honest, who will?  It is a way to get some more truth out there, to help balance the scales.  Warm people up to the experience by giving it to them in doses they can control.  A way to just “say it like I see it,” “keeping it real.”  As any detox participant might nod to, there are times when that goes smoothly and times when it’s ornery.  And as any therapist might be relieved to hear, I’m not going to claim that I’m really someone else trapped inside a body that’s not my own.  Deceptive obesity is not a curse.  It’s a choice.  Ask Pinocchio about choices.

So, Readers, I can’t guarantee anyone else’s content but my content will be hot-out-of-the-oven honest from the perspective I am currently in.  You may or may not like what I have to say, but you can trust that I will always give it to you straight.  If you want sugar on it, you’ll have to reach for a spoon and heap it on yourself.  And when both of those options cause you chafing, you’ll have to re-evaluate your own intake.  The provider of this content is not liable for the aggravation of any pre-existing condition, nor the diagnostician of your particular dis-ease.

“Y’all come back now, y’hear!”  ;)

How has this impacted your thinking on the matter?

Categories

