Posted by: sailingspirit | April 11, 2011

Courtyard

(an excerpt from a poem)

I am surrounded by flowers, pink and fresh
they are not beautiful anymore.
I am coaxed by a gentle breeze
it does not soothe me;
this bench for two is far too big
and the lights, hanging soft and low
illuminate the quiet, peaceful garden
but do not let me hide my tears.

If I had a rowboat,
could I paddle there to you?
If I had two stones,
could I step my way across?
If I had the money, the power, the will of the world
would be nothing e'er you turn your face from me.

I throw myself at your feet
my pride, my shame, my love, my fear,
no shield, no sword, no awl.
My prayers I whisper slowly, pleading:
my Love, my Friend, my All.


Copyright 2006/11 All Rights Reserved.
How has this impacted your thinking on the matter?

Categories

